Travel To: Madrid, Spain

I LOVE MADRID! A while ago, I actually visited Madrid with a group of friends for a long weekend and it was such an amazing experience! As a first-time visitor, I took to the internet to find the best places to visit while I was there. Here’s the result:

Transportation:

For some reason, my friends and I thought it would be a good idea to take the train to Madrid. At the time we were visiting Portugal, so we took advantage of the geographical proximity and took the train.

Note to self: 8 hours is longer than it seems when you book the ticket.


Overall the train ride itself wasn’t bad. We were a group of 4 people packed into a tight sleeping car with 4 (bunk-bed style) cots. It was somewhat claustrophobic, seeing how you could barely move around. So if you’re not fond of tight spaces, I’d recommend booking a long train ride in a regular seat.

The train itself also had a dining section with a VERY limited menu. Luckily we thought ahead and packed snacks, which I’d definitely recommend if you end up choosing the train as a method of transportation.

image

Hotel:

Once we finally got to Madrid, finding our hotel was a piece of cake! Knowing that we’d be dependent on the subway and taxis, we booked our hotel in the heart of Madrid. We stayed at the Praktik Metropol Hotel. Their rates were very reasonable, especially for frequent travelers. The regular rooms are on the smaller size, but they make up for it with their decor! The white wooden walls, super tall ceilings, and white bedding + curtains liven up the room.

image

Seeing how this hotel is in the heart of Madrid, and reasonably priced, you’d think that a nice view of the city would be hard to find. Or at least that’s what I thought! The hotel has an amazing rooftop where you can see the entire city! There are 2 sections to the rooftop: the lower and upper deck. Both have lounging chairs and comfortable cushions. It’s the perfect place to unwind after a long day of being a tourist!

image

Places to Visit:

Seeing how I was only able to spend a couple of days in Madrid, it was hard to visit every place on my bucket list. Somehow my friends and I were able to check most of the things off our list. Out of all the places we managed to see, these were my top 3 favorite spots to visit:

Buen Retiro Park

This is one of the most picturesque places in all of Madrid! The main feature of this park is the boating lake. You can rent a little rowboat and reenact the scene from Little Mermaid with your loved one!

image

Real Jardín Botánico de Madrid

The Royal Botanical Garden of Madrid is a great place to get in touch with nature while still being in the middle of a city. It’s also an amazing place to visit during the spring to see the flowers bloom!

image

Museo Del Prado

I’ve got to be honest, I’m not one for museums. I’d rather be out and about getting to know the city. That was until my friend took me to the Museo Del Prado. There are so many amazing pieces of art on exhibition! It is definitely an amazing experience, and I’d highly recommend it!

image

Where To Eat:

There are so many good places to eat, it’s ridiculous to think the I could just list them all. Instead, I’ll tell you what kind of dishes you NEED to eat while you’re in Madrid! I’ll keep the list very short because, like places to eat, it’s impossible to list all the amazing food you can find in Madrid. Nevertheless! If you have the chance, DO NOT leave Madrid without, at least, eating Tapas and Paella! SOOOOO GOOD!!!! Cannot emphasize this enough!

There is one place in particular that I’d like to mention: the Mercado de Antón Martín

image

It’s located in the heart of Madrid and allows shoppers to browse different little food kiosks. You can find anything from authentic Jamón Ibérico to strawberry-mint gelato! It’s a great place to spend a couple of hours, roaming through all the different flavors.


There’s only so much planning you can do when visiting a new city. One thing that I always try to do, as a frequent traveler, is to go with the flow of the city. With compact cities, like Madrid, there are always so many things you can do! So next time you travel, don’t forget to get to know the city by getting lost in it’s heart.

Have you ever been to Madrid? Let me know what your favorite places are in Madrid!

○ peace, love, & obnpt ○

Leave a Reply

